Content

Archery GB updates on COVID-19

Archery GB has prepared guidelines for clubs, coaches and members on returning to archery safely across the UK.

The safety of the archery community remains our top priority, the effects of coronavirus will be felt across the archery community for a considerable time to come. As we return to archery we need to do so responsibly, and we all need to continue to play our part in controlling the virus and saving lives.

 

Archery is a sport where close contact with others can be avoided. Archery GB has developed a set of practical guidelines for clubs to follow so that restricted shooting can take place where the local environment allows. The choice to return to archery at this time is one that needs to be made locally by clubs, after considering their own circumstances. There are many clubs who are keen to return to archery as soon as possible, but we appreciate there will be those that have genuine concerns, or their local environment will make shooting safely impossible at this stage. It is the responsibility of each club to make their own assessment based on their local environment and circumstances.

We therefore ask you to read and consider the guidelines carefully, before making a decision whether to return to archery during this current phase. Please do not feel pressured to open your club, attend your club, or coach until you are confident you can do so as safely, by following both the Archery GB guidelines and the current government advice.

The main office remains closed

Most staff at Archery GB remain working from home. Post has been redirected so it can be processed, but we urge people where possible to move from paper-based documents to digital versions which can be emailed.

Staff are making use of video conferencing or conference calls wherever possible for contact and meetings with each other and with our key volunteers. Office phone lines are redirected during office hours and normal business services will be maintained as best as possible under the circumstances of Coronavirus. Some staff remain furloughed, others can access company email accounts and Archery GB systems securely from home.

Keep in touch

We will continue to keep people updated through the website, ezines and social media.

If you have any questions please email them to membership@archerygb.org or call the team on 01952 677888 Monday to Friday between 9am-5pm.

Please treat our staff with the courtesy and respect they deserve, we will not tolerate abuse or bad language. Our team are working long hours to try and provide the latest and best advice while balancing the impact of coronavirus on their own lives, please be kind and respectful.

Look after your mental health

This is a stressful situation, which will undoubtedly have an impact on the mental well-being of some of our members, please click here for the most up to date guidance from the Mental Health Foundation for looking after your mental health during COVID-19.

Message from the NSPCC Childline:

As sport has been cancelled for a number or weeks, sports clubs and schools closed and the Government encouraging us to socially isolate, we need to be aware that many children and young people may be isolated and become more vulnerable.  Clubs are encouraged to use their links and methods of communicating with children and young people to promote the Childline.

Childline (UK) www.childline.org.uk Tel: 0800 11 11

NSPCC Helpline:

0808 800 5000 (8am-10pm Mon-Fri/9am-6pm weekends or e-mail help@nspcc.org.uk anytime.

Safeguarding

Online Coaching

We would like to remind clubs and coaches that, although this is a very technology-heavy time, we advise on the following precautions if you’re using live webcams sessions to coach;

  • Do not have 1:1s, groups only.
  • Coaches and youths must wear suitable clothing, as should anyone else in the household.
  • Any computers used should be in appropriate areas, for example, not in bedrooms; and where possible be against a neutral background.
  • The live session should be recorded and backed up elsewhere so that if any issues were to arise, the video can be reviewed – but of course, checking consent from parents/guardians prior.
  • Live sessions should be kept to a reasonable length of time, make sure that the athlete is not overdoing it.
  • Language must be professional and appropriate, including any family members in the background.
  • Coaches should risk assess the use of live coaching using webcams.
  • Ensure that parents/guardians are comfortable with the sessions to be held via a webcam link.

Please do not shoot at home

We appreciate that our members, and a lot of our staff, want to get out and shoot, and some will think the logical answer is to shoot in your home or garden, but we are urging you not to.

Please remember that you are not insured to physically shoot at home because Archery GB insurance only insures members shooting at Archery GB registered ranges. If you attend a venue that allows you to shoot, you must check that you are covered by the venue’s insurance or maintain your own.

Once again, members are only insured to shoot at Archery GB registered ranges. We cannot manage the level of risk shooting at home, archery is a very safe sport because of the rules that we all adhere to. We cannot guarantee that home ranges will adhere to the rules of shooting and we don’t have the resources to carry out the relevant risk assessments.

Frequently asked questions:

Archery GB has created a list of frequently asked questions, which can be downloaded below. We are still working on answers to some questions and we are still receiving new enquiries all the time, we will update our FAQ’s regularly.

Previous updates regarding COVID-19

Monday 21 September: Minor updates to the competition guidelines concerning local lockdowns

Thursday 17 September: Local lockdowns (updated)

Thursday 10 September: Covid-19 update: Archery can continue safely

Friday 21 August: Update to return to archery guidance for coaches (version 2.1)

Friday 7 August: Return to Competition

Saturday 1 August: Save the leisure sector

Friday 31 July: Membership fees announced

Thursday 30 July: Boost your archery skills at home

Monday 27 July: Socially distanced coaching

Friday 24 July: Return to archery guidance – Phase two

Thursday 23 July: Clubs united: How to share your outdoor range

Tuesday 21 July: Disability and inclusivity 

Thursday 16 July: Encouraging archers back to the range

Wednesday 15 July: Archery GB launches re-build activity fund for clubs in need

Tuesday 14 July: Membership Fee Update

Monday 13 July: Archery GB launches support pack for clubs that use school facilities

Thursday 9 July: Return to archery FAQs – Updated

Tuesday 7 July: Competition Update

Friday 3 July: Return to Archery Guidance Updated

Friday 3 July: Sport England and Club Matters’ return to play resources

Wednesday 1 July: Local Lockdowns

Tuesday 23 June: Statement on indoor leisure and sport facilities remaining closed

Monday 22 June: Return to archery FAQs – updated

Friday 19 June: Welsh Archery Association announce return to archery from Monday 22 June

Friday 19 June: Archery GB publishes guidance for supporting disabled archers 

Friday 19 June: Scottish Archery publish phase 2 guidance

Friday 12 June: Return to Archery Guidance Updated 

Friday 5 June: Register for Archery GB online AGM

Thursday 4 June: Return to Archery Guidance Updated

Monday 1 June: Scottish Archery release return to sport guidelines

Tuesday 19 May: Return to archery FAQs Updated

Tuesday 19 May: Competition Update

Thursday 14 May: Return to archery FAQs

Wednesday 13 May: Return to archery phase one

Tuesday 12 May: Last chance to apply for the Sport England Emergency Fund

Monday 11 May: Official Update – COVID-19

Wednesday 6 May: Archery GB announce new ‘office’ opening hours

Monday 4 May: CEO Update

Monday 4 May: All range registrations extended by an additional four months

Thursday 30 April: Ground maintenance work can go ahead

Thursday 30 April: Frequently Asked Questions updated

Monday 20 April: Archery Clubs receive grant funding from Sport England

Friday 17 April: Richard Priestman’s archery tips during lockdown

Friday 17 April: Join our stay home webinar series

Thursday 9 April: CEO Update

Monday 6 April: Information for secretaries 

Friday 3 April: Help your archery club survive lockdown

Tuesday 31 March: 195 million package available to help sport through coronavirus 

Monday 30 March: New dates announced for Olympic and Paralympic Games

Friday 27 March: Frequently Asked Questions updated

Thursday 26 March: Frequently Asked Questions updated

Thursday 26 March: AGM postponed until July 

Tuesday 24 March: Frequently Asked Questions updated

Tuesday 24 March: Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games postponed until 2021

Friday 20 March: What financial support is available?

Friday 20 March: Safeguarding during covid-19

Thursday 19 March: Frequently Asked Questions

Thursday 19 March: Update Regarding COVID-19

Tuesday 17 March: Archery Postponement

Monday 16 March: CEO Update on COVID-19

Friday 13 March: Government Advice on COVID-19

Wednesday 4 March: Government Issues COVID-19 Advice for sports

 

Documents

Guidance Notes for Supporting Disabled Archers – Phase 2
Guidance Notes for Coaches – Phase 2 (version 2.1)
Archery Ranges Risk Assessment – Phase 2
FAQS – Return to Archery Updated 9 July
Guidance for supporting disabled archers back to archery (Phase 1)
Return to archery guidance for clubs (version 1.4)
Return to archery guidance for archers (version 1.4)
Return to archery guidance notes for coaches (version 1.4)
Template risk assessment for returning to archery
Example range layout for social distancing

Sign up for the latest news

Get all the latest news from Archery GB

To join our mailing list, simply click this box to subscribe